近視

甚麼是近視?

近視是一種常見的屈光問題,患者看近距離物件清晰,遠距離物像模糊

甚麼是深近視?

深近視是一種較嚴重的情況,在深近視的情況下,眼球因過長而對視網膜構成拉扯壓力,會導致出現視網膜撕裂甚或脫落的情況。視網膜下亦有機會出現異常新增血管,有機會引致視力受損。患有深近視的人士應定期接受全面的放瞳眼底檢查,及早發現和治療相關問題,有助預防視力受損

近視
成因及風險因素
近視如何形成

近視構成的原因是影像過份聚焦,投射在視網膜前方,導致影像模糊。此現象的形成是由於眼球過長,角膜弧度過彎,導致影像未能準確投射在視網膜上

易患上近視的一群

受近視影響的群組,包括成人及兒童。兒童最常被確診患上近視的年齡是介乎8–12歲之間,而在青春期間,近視的情況最易惡化。絕大部分情況,在青春期後,進入成年階段,20–40歲期間,近視度數會較為穩定,變化亦相對較少,但亦會有少部份父母親都是近視患者的人,他們的近視度數卻會隨年齡繼續増加

症狀與檢查
近視會出現的症狀

部份近視可能出現的症狀包括:

  • 頭痛
  • 眼睛易疲勞
  • 觀看遠處景物模糊,例如路牌
如何診斷患有近視

眼科專業人員(例如:視光師 / 眼科醫生) 可以透過屈光及全面眼睛檢查,準確診斷病人患有近視或其他屈光不正問題

治療
如何矯正近視

近視可以透過眼鏡、隱形眼鏡及激光矯視手術矯正

眼鏡是矯正近視最簡單,最安全的方式。眼科專業護理人員可以驗配合適鏡片,糾正這個問題,幫助你看得更好。而且還有一種特殊的學童控制近視漸進鏡片可能有助於穩定近視。

隱形眼鏡的原理是利用光線在表面屈折後進入眼睛,造出更精確的焦點。

激光矯視手術會永久改變角膜形狀,改善屈折後的視力。手術能減低或消除患者對眼鏡或隱形眼鏡的依賴。

資料來源:美國國家眼科研究所

Myopia Prevention and Control

What is myopia?

Myopia, also known as nearsightedness, is a common type of refractive error where close objects appear clearly, but distant objects appear blurry.

What is high myopia?

High myopia is a severe form of the condition. In high myopia, the eyeball stretches and becomes too long. This can lead to holes or tears in the retina and can also cause retinal detachment. Abnormal blood vessels may grow under the retina and cause changes in vision. People with high myopia need comprehensive dilated eye exams more often. Early detection and timely treatment can help prevent vision loss.

Myopia
Causes and Risk Factors
How does myopia develop?

Myopia develops in eyes that focus images in front of the retina instead of on the retina, which results in blurred vision. This occurs when the eyeball becomes too long and prevents incoming light from focusing directly on the retina. It may also be caused by an abnormal shape of the cornea or lens.

Who is at risk for myopia?

Myopia can affect both children and adults. Myopia is often diagnosed in children between 8 and 12 years of age and may worsen during the teen years. Little change may occur between ages 20 to 40, but sometimes myopia may worsen with age. People whose parents have myopia may be more likely to get the condition.

Symptoms and Detection
What are the signs and symptoms of myopia?

Some of the signs and symptoms of myopia include:

  • Headaches
  • Eyestrain
  • Squinting
  • Difficulty seeing distant objects, such as highway signs
How is myopia diagnosed?

An eye care professional (e.g. optometrist/ophthalmologist) can diagnose myopia and other refractive errors during a comprehensive dilated eye examination. People with this condition often visit their eye care professional with complaints of visual discomfort or blurred distant vision.

Treatment
How is myopia corrected?

Myopia can be corrected with eyeglasses, contact lenses, or surgery.
Eyeglasses are the simplest and safest way to correct myopia. Your eye care professional can prescribe lenses that will correct the problem and help you to see your better. And there is a special lens called myopia-control lens which may be helpful to hold the progress.
Contact Lenses work by becoming the first refractive surface for light rays entering the eye, causing a more precise refraction or focus.
Refractive Surgery aims to permanently change the shape of the cornea which will improve refractive vision. Surgery can decrease or eliminate dependency on wearing eyeglasses and contact lenses.

Source: National Eye Institute