黃班點病變

老年黃斑病變(AMD)是影響視網膜上黃斑點區的退化性疾病。 AMD的會導致中央視力在無痛楚感覺情況下受損,但未必會導致視力完全喪失。

老年黃斑病變(AMD)主要影響中央視力,即當你正在注視的物象,例如,當你正在閱讀,看照片或看電視,會有視覺失真或模糊的情況,如果在一段時間內沒接受適當處理,它可能會導致你的中心視力永久受損。

原因

現在,對於AMD的確切成因尚不清楚。有些因素被定為是提高AMD的機會:

  • 年齡:老年黃斑病變(AMD)的發生率隨著人們年齡增長而上升,雖然在40多歲和50歲的人身上也曾發生,但最常出現在年齡超過 65 歲的人身上。
  • 性別:患有 AMD 的女性多於男性,可能是因為女性往往比男性更長壽。
  • 基因:基因:一些人體基因已被確認到與老年黃斑病變的發展有關。這項發現是通過觀察有 AMD 家庭成員病例而推斷出來的,但不是所有的 AMD 被認為是遺傳的。
  • 吸煙:吸煙大大增加你患 AMD 的機會。研究還表明,戒煙可以降低你患 AMD 的危險。
  • 陽光:一些研究表明,暴露在高水平的太陽光(特別是太陽光中的紫外線)可能會增加你患 AMD 的危險。戴太陽鏡,以保護眼睛不受紫外線的傷害是一個好的預防措施。
  • 飲食:一些研究著眼於飲食對於誘發 AMD 的可能。直到現在,沒有共識所謂的危險飲食因素是如何。有一些證據表明,維生素 A 、 C 和 E、鋅有助於延緩 AMD 患者的病情惡化。
黃班點病變

雖然你不能改變你的年齡或基因,目前的理想預防方法是,保護你的眼睛免受太陽光照射,均衡飲食,充足的新鮮水果和蔬菜,戒煙可能都有助於保持你的眼睛健康。

不幸的是,由於 AMD 的確切原因尚不清楚,即使你沒有任何這些風險因素,你都可能出現這種情況。

症狀

不同的症狀因人而異,但通常人們首先注意到的問題是他們是否能夠看到物象細節。即使你配戴老花鏡,你可能閱讀小字有困難,或者你可能會發現在你的視線內,或者你的對焦區域中有一個小的模糊區域的中心被略微遮蓋。直線可能看起來失真或扭曲。

你可能還會發現你變得光線敏感,或者你在環境中看到實在的形狀和燈光。有時,人們可能只注意到一隻眼睛有這些變化。

如果:

  • 您發現即使你配戴老花鏡,仍然對閱讀小字感到困難
  • 直線可能看起來失真或扭曲
  • 視力並不像以前那樣明亮清晰
  • 你應該找驗光師作全面眼睛檢查

驗光師將能夠檢查您的視力,並評估你的眼睛 / 眼底健康狀況。如果他們發現有任何黃斑病變徵兆,他們將轉介到眼科醫生作進一步檢查及跟進。

資料來源:皇家失明人研究所

Common eye disease and problem - Age-related Macular Degeneration

Age-related macular degeneration (AMD) is an eye condition that affects a tiny part of the retina at the back of your eye, which is called the macula. AMD causes problems with your central vision, but does not lead to total loss of sight and is not painful.

Age-related macular degeneration affects the vision you use when you're looking directly at something, for example when you're reading, looking at photos or watching television. AMD may make this central vision distorted or blurry and, over a period of time, it may cause a blank patch in the centre of your vision.

Causes

At the moment, the exact cause for AMD is not known. Some things are thought to increase chances of developing AMD:

  • Age: Age-related macular degeneration develops as people grow older and is most often seen in people over the age of 65, although it can develop in people who are in their 40s and 50s.
  • Gender: more women have AMD than men, probably because women tend to live longer than men.
  • Genes: some genes have been identified which seem to be linked to the development of age-related macular degeneration in some people. This has been discovered by looking at families with more than one member who has AMD, but not all AMD is thought to be inherited.
  • Smoking: smoking greatly increases your risk of developing AMD. Studies also show that stopping smoking can reduce your risk of developing AMD.
  • Sunlight: some studies suggest that exposure to high levels of sunlight (particularly the UV light contained in sunlight) throughout your life may increase your risk of developing AMD. Wearing sunglasses to protect your eyes from the UV light in sunlight is a good idea for everyone throughout their life.
  • Diet: a number of studies have looked at diet as a risk factor for someone developing AMD. At the moment there isn't agreement on how much of a risk factor diet is. There is some evidence that vitamins A, C and E and zinc may help to slow the progression of AMD in people who already have the condition.

Although you cannot change your age or genes, current thinking is that protecting your eyes from the sun, eating a balanced diet with plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables, and stopping smoking may all help to keep your eyes as healthy as possible.

Unfortunately, because the exact cause of AMD is not known you may develop this condition even if you don't have any of these risk factors.

Symptoms

Symptoms vary from person to person, but usually the first problems people notice are with their ability to see detail. You may have problems reading small print, even if you wear your usual reading glasses, or you may find that there is a slight smudge in your sight or that your vision has a small blurred area in the centre. Straight lines may look distorted or wavy or as if there's a little bump in them.

You may also find you become sensitive to bright light or that you see shapes and lights that aren't actually there. Sometimes people may only notice these changes in one eye.

You should have your eyes tested by an optometrist (optician) if:

  • You notice any difficulty with reading small print with your reading glasses
  • Straight lines start to look wavy or distorted
  • Your vision isn't as clear as it used to be

The optometrist will be able to measure any changes in your vision and examine the back of your eye. If they detect any changes to your macula or any cause for concern they will arrange an appointment with the ophthalmologist for further tests

Source: Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB)